Flashback Friday: Worth Getting an Annual Health Check-Up and Physical Exam?

0 Просмотры
Издатель
What are the risks and benefits of getting an annual check-up, a comprehensive annual physical exam, and routine blood testing?

Subscribe to NutritionFacts.org's free e-newsletter and receive a recipe from Dr. Greger's brand-new cookbook, The How Not to Diet Cookbook: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/

Did I say lifestyle medicine? Yes! Learn more about this exciting growing field in Lifestyle Medicine: Treating the Causes of Disease (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/lifestyle-medicine-treating-the-causes-of-disease/) and Convincing Doctors to Embrace Lifestyle Medicine (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/convincing-doctors-to-embrace-lifestyle-medicine/).

Still don’t understand how there can be risks? See Why Prevention Is Worth a Ton of Cure (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/Why-Prevention-is-Worth-a-Ton-of-Cure). Unfortunately, physicians and patients alike wildly overestimate the benefits of pills and procedures. See, for example, The Actual Benefit of Diet vs. Drugs (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/The-Actual-Benefit-of-Diet-vs-Drugs).

The fact is Physicians May Be Missing Their Most Important Tool (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/physicians-may-be-missing-their-most-important-tool).

And what about mammograms? See my video series:
• The Pros and Cons of Mammograms (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-pros-and-cons-of-mammograms/)
• Why Patients Aren’t Informed About Mammograms (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/why-patients-arent-informed-about-mammograms/)
• Why Mammograms Don’t Appear to Save Lives (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/why-mammograms-dont-appear-to-save-lives/)
• Women Deserve to Know the Truth About Mammograms (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/women-deserve-to-know-the-truth-about-mammograms/)
• Do Mammograms Hurt? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/do-mammograms-hurt/)
• Do Mammograms Save Lives? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/do-mammograms-save-lives/)
• Should Women Get Mammograms Starting at Age 40? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/should-women-get-mammograms-starting-at-age-40/)
• 9 out of 10 Women Misinformed About Mammograms (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/9-out-of-10-women-misinformed-about-mammograms/)
• Breast Cancer and the 5-Year Survival Rate Myth (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/breast-cancer-and-the-5-year-survival-rate-myth/)
• Overtreatment of Stage Zero Breast Cancer DCIS (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/overtreatment-of-stage-0-breast-cancer-dcis/)
• Understanding the Mammogram Paradox (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/understanding-the-mammogram-paradox/)
• Can Mammogram Radiation Cause Breast Cancer? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/can-mammogram-radiation-cause-breast-cancer/)
• Consequences of False-Positive Mammogram Results (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/consequences-of-false-positive-mammogram-results/)
• Mammogram Recommendations: Why the Conflicting Guidelines? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/mammogram-recommendations-why-the-conflicting-guidelines/)

Should All Children Have Their Cholesterol Checked (https://www.nutritionfacts.org/video/should-all-children-have-their-cholesterol-checked), too? Watch the video to find out!

Check out this video to Find Out If Your Doctor Takes Drug Company Money (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/find-out-if-your-doctor-takes-drug-company-money/).

Have a question about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/flashback-friday-worth-getting-an-annual-health-check-up-and-physical-exam and someone on the NutritionFacts.org team will try to answer it.

Want to get a list of links to all the scientific sources used in this video? Click on Sources Cited at https://nutritionfacts.org/video/flashback-friday-worth-getting-an-annual-health-check-up-and-physical-exam. You’ll also find a transcript and acknowledgements for the video, my blog and speaking tour schedule, and an easy way to search (by translated language even) through our videos spanning more than 2,000 health topics.

If you’d rather watch these videos on YouTube, subscribe to my YouTube Channel here: https://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=nutritionfactsorg

Thanks for watching. I hope you’ll join in the evidence-based nutrition revolution!
-Michael Greger, MD FACLM

Captions for this video are available in several languages. To find yours, click on the settings wheel on the lower-right of the video and then "Subtitles/CC." Do you have feedback about the translations in this video? Please share it here along with the title of the video and language: https://nutritionfacts.zendesk.com/hc/requests/new

https://NutritionFacts.org
• Donate: https://nutritionfacts.org/donate
• Podcast : https://nutritionfacts.org/audio
• Facebook: www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: www.instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org
• Books (including the NEW How Not to Diet Cookbook): https://nutritionfacts.org/books
• Shop: https://drgreger.org
Категория
Рак Молочной Железы
Комментариев нет.